All the president’s men

ICAEW recently highlighted ‘10 things you didn’t know about ICAEW’. For instance, did you know that for his work on sustainability in accountancy King Charles III is an honorary member? The ICAEW is also duty bound by its royal charter to work in the public interest.

The presence of the Big 4 in the early presidents list is also very evident. The third person to hold the role was Aurther Cooper (now PwC) from 1883 to 1884. His brother Ernest served from 1892 to 1901. As ICAEW says the other Big 4 accounting firms are also there at the start. Fredrick Whinney – one of EY’s founders ruled for four years. William Deloitte served from 1888 to 1899. One of KPMG’s founders, William Barclay Peat had two goes as president from 1906 to 1908.